The Apes Bio

Ian Mabley – guitar, vocals
Chris Sciotto – bass, vocals
JR Franks – drums

A Shrewdness of Apes started off with the collaboration of Ian Mabley and Dave Greek as an acoustic duo in late 2012.  With the incorporation of their first drummer, Cesar Cotrina, in mid-2013, they named themselves after the collective noun for monkeys, which they thought represented their intricate, melodic yet heavy style. 

They released their first EP (Alpha) in March 2014.  Ian moved to DC in October 2014 during the production of the band's second EP (Beta) and released it in January 2015. From this album, "No One Knows What It's Like To Be Sober" quickly became the band's most popular song. In DC, the band existed as an acoustic duo with Sumeet Mahal on bass until Jared Coffin was chosen as their new drummer in March 2017.

The band released their first full-length album in May 2019 with new members Chris Sciotto and JR Franks. It was with this lineup that the band made it to the finals for best hard rock song, album, and artist of the D.C. area's 2020 Wammie Awards. They made it to the finals a second time for Best Hard Rock Artist in 2021.

The band is now recording their second full length album at Ivakota Studios and is expected to release it later in 2021. 

Whether it's acoustic riffs, dizzying time signatures, or monolithic electric guitar solos, expect the musically unexpected with A Shrewdness of Apes.